Petition launched to require CFAC members to possess firearms licences

Credit: Postmedia

A petition has launched to require members appointed to the Canadian Firearms Advisory Committee to possess Possession and Acquisition Licences

A new petition has launched today on the Canadian government’s e-petition website.

According to the petition, designated e-1093, the unelected members of the “Canadian Firearms Advisory Committee will shape the future of firearm regulation in our country”, and as a result they should “adequately understand and represent the very people affected by [the committee’s] recommendations”.

Sponsored by MP Michelle Rempel, representing Calgary Nose Hill, the petition was started by firearms advocate Tracey Wilson. Wilson, who is the Vice President of Public Relations for the Canadian Coalition for Firearm Rights and self-proclaimed “gun goddess”, has seen increased prominence in the media spotlight over the past year.

Before the end of its first day the petition has already seen over 1,500 signatures.

The Canadian Coaliation for Firearm Rights, or CCFR, is a volunteer organization representing the Canadian firearm owning community that focuses on educating the  general public and mainstream media about issues affecting gun owners. Wilson was also previously the organization’s director for Ontario.

The Canadian Firearms Advisory Committee, established in 2006, is tasked with providing to the federal government “advice on measures to reform Canada’s firearms policies, laws and regulations to ensure an up-to-date firearms regime that will keep Canadians safe”.

Its membership was renewed earlier this year and includes members representing “women’s groups” – which drew considerable criticism and questions regarding its relevancy to general firearms laws – and others with a history of strong opposition to firearms in Canada.

One such individual, Nathalie Provost, who is serving as Vice-Chair to the committee, was injured during the PolyTechnique shooting in Montreal in 1989 and is the head of the Quebecois anti-firearms organization PolySeSouvient.

The committee was also previously gutted of firearms experts and enthusiasts in 2013, by then-Public Safety Minister Vic Toews, and leaders from police organizations across the country were added in their place.